Rite of Christian Initiation of Adults

The Catechism of the Catholic Church (p.1229) states that, from the time of the apostles, becoming a Christian has been accomplished by a journey and initiation in several stages. This journey can be covered rapidly or slowly, but certain essential elements will always have to be present: proclamation of the Word, acceptance of the Gospel entailing conversion, profession of faith, Baptism itself, the outpouring of the Holy Spirit, and admission to Eucharistic communion.

The Christian initiation of adults begins with their entry into the catechumenate and reaches its culmination in a single celebration of the three sacraments of initiation: Baptism, Confirmation, and the Eucharist.

Who is RCIA for?

  • Adults in need of Baptism
  • Persons baptized in another Christian church
  • Adults baptized Catholic who never received the Sacraments of First Communion and Confirmation

The Rite of Christian Initiation of Adults (RCIA) process is especially designed for individuals who are interested in learning about the Catholic faith and have an interest in joining the Catholic Church. It is also for adults who were baptized in the Catholic faith but never continued their religious instruction or received other sacraments. Instructional sessions usually begin in September and conclude shortly after Easter Vigil.

St. Peter the Apostle Parish RCIA Program

St. Peter the Apostle RCIA program consists of clergy giving various teaching presentations on the doctrinal elements of Catholic life.  In addition, RCIA team members, sponsors or lay members of the church will facilitate discussions on prayer, Catholic practices, and day-to-day life as a Catholic.

Your journey begins with the inquiry period where you have desire to learn more about the faith and have questions about becoming a Catholic. From there you begin to discern a conversion to the Catholic faith by participating in the RCIA formation process that takes you, the candidate through a five phase process including:

  • Catechumenate: those who decide to enter the Church and are being trained for a life in Christ are called catechumens, an ancient name from the early Church. In this stage, you’re developing your faith and are being “catechized” — learning catechism, or the basic points about Catholic faith and life.
  • Purification and preparation: The Church will help you focus and intensify your faith as you prepare you to commit your life to Christ and be received into the Church at Easter. If you’re following the RCIA process, you’ll go through a beautiful series of Gospel-based meditations during Lent, which is the time frame of this period.
  • Initiation itself, the culmination of the whole process! You’re received into the Church during the Easter Vigil Mass, where you’ll receive the sacraments of initiation: baptism, confirmation, and Eucharist. (If you’ve already been baptized, you won’t be baptized again.)
  • Mystagogy: after reception into the Church at Easter, this period lets you reflect and learn more about the mysteries of the Mass and the Sacraments that you now participate in fully.

To learn more about RCIA or if you are someone you know are interested in becoming a Catholic contact the parish at office 337-536-9258, or e-mail Deacon Hebert, jhebert@diolaf.org